Rocket Fuel in training – c25k done!

Yesterday was the last day of the 9 week running program of couch to 5 km!

I’ve made a list of things I have learnt along the way

  • during the short intervals at the start I ran like a hamster in a wheel, lots of effort not a whole lot of progress
  • once the intervals got longer I ran like a turtle. Short steps and slow but never giving up
  • I never missed a single run session
  • if I can make it to the halfway point I can’t give up because by then I’ve got less to go than I’ve already run so it’s pointless to stop now
  • running in the rain is slippery but quite fun
  • riding a bike after running feels like you are learning to ride all over again as your muscles just don’t want to move in that direction
  • I run faster when I listen to the Ramones
  • performance socks really do work
  • getting properly fitted for trainers is a great idea and will help when you are starting out
  • a good sports bra/top is a must
  • running tights with a gusset are the only tights that should be used for running
  • after running I ducked into the supermarket, wasn’t till I got most of the way through that I realised I was committing the horror of tights as pants, epic fail (only did this once thankfully)
  • it doesn’t get easier but you do get fitter and improve your technique which makes it slightly better
  • even on cold windy days you heat up really fast
  • once you stop running you get cold fast
  • compression tights after the run make your legs feel like they are getting a big hug and leave your legs not feeling sore

Overall it was a great way to learn to run and get into the habit of running 3 days a week and I’d recommend it for anyone who wants to start running.

Where to from here?

  • continue running
  • maintain running 30 minutes x 3 times a week
  • once running those 30 minute sessions become easier increase the amount of time running in each session

I’ve been thinking about if I should sign up for a run (like the Bridge run) as extra motivation but am on the fence about it. Part of me thinks it would be fun and then part of me thinks I’d panic with so many other people round run like crazy for 5 minutes and then spectacularly blow up and have to pull out. But it’s still under consideration so who knows maybe I will just go for it after all?

8 responses to “Rocket Fuel in training – c25k done!

  1. WTG on the C25K! Definitely sign up for a race. You will have a blast, and get a shirt! Win/win! For a next step, you could try 1hour runner. I am not sure of the title, but it is kind of a follow-up to C25K. Good luck and welcome to running.
    Happy running,
    Rundad

    • Thank you!

      Am pretty happy that I managed from not being able to run round the corner to being able to do the whole program. I like the idea of the 1 hour runner will have to check it out. I’d noticed there is an app available that leads on from c25k that then gets you up to 10km and that looks interesting too. For the moment want to just focus on being consistent with my 3 times a week and getting better technique and then work my way up from there but it’s looking good!

  2. Awesome!!! We should bike ride and run one day maybe??? And YES! Sign up for a run! I just did my first run in preparation for the City2Surf- would you be keen to do it too? 🙂

    • Oh gosh I’ve not even contemplated the City to Surf yet? Do you have a set program you work with to be ready in time for it?

      Be totally up for a ride and a run one day, we shall have to organise that!

  3. Oh and I totally agree re good bra! And ditto re the turtle- slow and steady wins the race!

  4. I’ve done it twice now, and last year I actually trained for it (the other time, I just went in cold turkey, which was kinda interesting!)

    There are some training programmes available on the website: http://www.city2surf.com.au/default.asp?PageID=17806

    I love the Triumph Triaction seamfree crop top sports bras, which I get from Rebel (this is a rather randomly public conversation about bras!) They’re quite good val…
    http://www.rebelsport.com.au/ecom/rebel/product_detail.aspx?id=34877&cat=315

  5. Great work! You are awesome!

Leave a Reply

