In the newspaper – some responses

I’ve been giggling all day at the comments the article has attracted on the SMH site.

I’m the kind of cyclist who always stops for the red lights, who doesn’t filter through traffic and will wait for more than one cycle of the lights to see if the trigger has gone off on the sensor. It’s just how I like to ride and I know it’s not everyone’s style but I try and follow the road rules and be polite and it works for me.

But most days I have to go against at least one of the lights on the cycleway. I generally wait and go when the pedestrian light goes (which is when the bike lantern should go if it is triggered correctly). I always feel bad but I also need to get to where I am going. If the signals were automatic or fixed so they were not so difficult to trigger then it would help alot.

Today I was riding in the city and was first at a set of lights and while I was waiting a lady came up to me and said “are you the girl from the newspaper?” I said yes and she congratulated me on riding and said “keep it up” was very sweet of her.

Other queries I have got today

Q. what do you wear in the rain? A – tights or knicks, jersey and a waterproof jacket and a cycling cap to keep the rain off my face and full finger gloves to keep my hands warmer.

Q. Where did you get that dress? A – it’s vintage fabric that I made into that dress using a commercial pattern (Simplicity pattern actually).

Q. Do you always ride in heels? A – not always, I do sometimes but it can ruin your heels if you are not careful so I tend to wear a pair of flat bottomed Adidas shelltoes and swap once I get to my destination.

Q. Do you always ride to and from work? A – generally yes unless it’s a day I’m working from home but even then I’ll use my bike to go to the post or the shops or even fit in a sneaky ride.

Q. Do you own more than one bike? A – yes different bikes for different purposes. You don’t need to own more than one but it depends on what you are using your bikes for.

One response to “In the newspaper – some responses

  1. Hi Susan

    I’m a UTS journalism student and am doing a video report on the same report. Wondering if you were interested in being filmed/interviewed again? My email is tawar.razaghi@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

