Riding in Style – AyUp lights

Last summer with the darkening days due to overwhelming rain and what appears to be more and more streets with less street lights (what’s with that?), I decided to light myself up. Well the bike at least.

For a few years The Englishman has had Ay-Up lights for his road bike. They are compact, look good, incredibly bright and rechargeable. So I pretty much knew those were the lights I wanted…now the only choice was colour.

With a wide variety of Anodised colors to choose from I originally wanted orange to match my road bike. Unfortunately the team at Ay-Up don’t have an orange colour they are happy with so they don’t offer one for sale (have to admire people who won’t put out anything substandard even something as simple as a colour!).

So naturally the only other colour choice for me was bright pink. During the ordering process you get to customize a few things. The type of lights and battery you want, type of mounts,colors of connecting bars and colour of your pod. The online ordering system was straight forward and easy to use. After placing my order they were delivered within 48 hours (awesome).

Upon receiving my only dilemma was how to attach them to the bike. Normally it’s a quite mount to the handlebars and you are ready to go. But the basket on the commuter bike kind of got in the way. A few zip ties and some Velcro and voila!  A bike basket with mounted lights and the battery safely mounted under my bag.

Added bonus now if I stop to get groceries on the way home I can unclip my entire basket, fill it with groceries and clip it back in and the lights still work all without having to remove expensive bike lights from the bike every time. Since then they have been lighting my way home and I couldn’t be happier with them.

They are bright, incredibly robust, easy and fast to recharge, waterproof and with the variety of mounts its a matter of seconds to swap it from one bike to another. I’ve also noticed cars are a bit more cautious during darker times as I don’t look like a bicycle because the lights are so bright so that’s a big bonus.

Leave a Reply

